President Buhari’s latest bill confers immunity on lawmakers, others

The Nigerian president, Muhammadu Buhari, has in a latest bill signed approved immunity for lawmakers and other top political office holders in the country.

The President, Muhammadu Buhari, had on Friday signed eight bills which had earlier been passed by the National Assembly into law.

The signing ceremony, a brief one, held inside the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

Speaking on the bills, the Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate), Senator Ita Enang, while speaking to members of the State House media stated that prominent among the bills signed by the Nigerian president is onw signed into law is the Legislative Houses (Power and Privileges), Act 2018 which grants members of Legislative Houses in the National Assembly and State Houses of Assembly immunity from litigation for actions taken in plenary or committee proceedings of the House or committee.

Enang further added that the law is meant as a protection and signed in order to strengthen the power of the legislators to carry out their legislative functions.

The latest bill however further empowers lawmakers to summon any person to appear before her, give evidence, and also includes the power of an officer of the legislative House to arrest any person who commits an offence against the Act.