Okonjo-Iweala appointed in Asian Bank advisory panel

Okonjo-Iweala appointed in Asian Bank advisory panel

Former Nigerian Finance minister, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, has been appointed the a member of the international advisory panel of Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB).

Speaking of the development today, AIIB’s spokesman, Song Liyan, explained:

“The Panel provides impartial, objective and independent advice to the President, allowing the Bank to benefit from the international experience and expertise of panel members.”

The bank’s president, Jin Liqun, added:

“It is a great honour to convene such an experienced and diverse group of international leaders to advise on the development of the Bank’s strategy.

“I have no doubt that the advice the panel provides will help shape the development of the Bank in the years ahead.

“I could not ask for a better group of ambassadors to help promote our new Bank to the world.”

Full list of members of the AIIB advisory panel include:

  1. Former Nigerian Finance minister Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala
  2. Former Bank Negara Malaysia governor Dr Zeti Aziz,
  3. Former Pakistan Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz
  4. Former Swedish finance minister Anders Borg
  5. Former Timor-Leste finance minister Emilia Pires
  6. Former World Bank chief economist Nicholas Stern
  7. Former Japanese Prime Minister Yukio Hatoyama
  8. Global Foundation secretary-general Steve Howard
  9. Korea National Diplomatic Academy chair professor
  10. Former South Korean deputy prime minister
  11. Strategy and finance minister Dr Oh-Seok Hyun
  12. Former U.S. ambassador Paul Speltz
  13. London School of Economics professor
  14. Former Hong Kong chief executive Tung Chee-Hwa